See the Impressive Profile of the Newly Appointed Permanent Secretaries

 President Muhammadu Buhari, embraced a different approach in his fresh appointments as he sourced a number of his newly appointed Permanent secretaries from the nation's private sector. 
Ahead of today’s swearing in of the minister designates, President Muhammadu Buhari, on Tuesday, November 10, approved the appointment of 18 new permanent secretaries in the Federal Civil Service.
A large number of the appointees were recruited from the private sector signaling a departure from the past when directors in the civil service were promoted to the post of permanent secretaries.
Key among the appointments included Mr. Louis Edozien and Dr. Mahmoud Isa-Dutse, two professionals with proven track records in the private sector before venturing into the public sector.
Edozien, who was deployed to the Federal Ministry of Power, was before his appointment the Executive Director, Engineering & Technical of the Niger Delta Power Holding Company (NDPHC), where he was responsible for the technical and project management of the federal government’s $8 billion investment in the National Integrated Power Projects (NIPPs).
Armed with a combined Mathematics and Social Studies Bachelor’s degree from Harvard University in Cambridge, Massachusetts, and a Master’s of Science degree in Electrical Engineering from Stanford University in California, USA, Edozie has also variously worked as a consultant to the Africa Finance Corporation (AFC) and World Bank, for MTN and United Bank for Africa (UBA) Plc, and as an instructor at the Digital Bridge Institute, Abuja.
Isa-Dutse, on the other hand, was appointed the new perm sec for the Federal Ministry of Finance.
He brings to the table over 20 years banking experience, having worked from UBA from which he retired as an executive director in 2002, Savannah Bank of Nigeria Plc, Guaranty Trust Bank Plc, Continental Merchant Bank Limited and Gamji Bank Limited.
A graduate of Economics from Ahmadu Bello University, Zaria, Isa-Dutse also has a Master’s in Business Administration from the Wharton Business School, University of Pennsylvania, Pennsylvania in the US and a PhD in Business Administration from the Manchester Business School in the UK.
In addition to other non-executive appointments, Isa-Dutse currently sits on the boards of Access Bank Plc and Northern Nigeria Flour Mills Plc as a non-executive director.
A statement by the president’s media aide, Mr Femi Adesina, said other new permanent secretaries are: Mrs. Ayotunde Adesugba, Mr. Taiwo Abidogun, Dr. Bukar Hassan, Mrs. Wakama Belema Asifieka, Mr. Jalal Ahmad Arabi, Mr. Sabiu Zakari, Mrs. Obiageli Phyllis Nwokedi and Mr. Aminu Nabegu.
Others are Mr. Bamgbose Olukunle Oladele, Mr. Alo Williams Nwankwo, Dr. Shehu Ahmed, Mr. Ogbonnaya Innocent Kalu, Mrs. Nuratu Jimoh Batagarawa, Mr. Christian Chinyeaka Ohaa, Mr. Bassey Apkanyung and Dr. Ugo Roy.